Flux landscape architecture is an office for landscape architecture based in Utrecht.  Flux's approach to design can be characterized as research driven and conceptual. With work ranging from design research to detailed spatial concepts for landscapes or public spaces, Flux tackles projects varying in size and scope. Projects are both, urban and rural - often related to themes that span climate change, new forms of ecology, energy transition, mobility and circular economy. 

Flux was founded by the landscape architect Gerwin de Vries. The design team of 12 people is comprised of landscape architects, urban planners and designers. Flux often collaborates with specialists in ecology, technique or water. Flux derived from the former organization LINT (a collaboration with Alexander Herrebout from 2013-2017)

 The Flux team has designed and collaborated on many renowned projects, that include: Grebbedijk Wageningen (Waterschap Vallei en Veluwe 2018), Merwedekanaalzone Climate Proof (provincie Utrecht 2016) and Verbrede Waddendijk (Rijksadviseur landschap en Water 2014) and Mexico City Climate Proof (UN Habitat 2017). More recent projects that are being executed at this moment, include: Stadsomwalling Leuven (Stad Leuven 2018), Werkspoorkathedraal Utrecht (Overvecht Vastgoed 2018), Park ter Walle Menen (Stad Menen 2018) and Oostenburg Amsterdam (VORM ontwikkeling 2018).

Gerwin was awarded the first prize in the International Archiprix in 2006, received a starter stipend from the Dutch Foundation for Visual Arts in 2007 and was shortlisted for the Prix de Rome in 2014. Flux’s projects have been featured in media as well as exhibitions on the national and international level. Flux is involved in educational activities at HKU Spatial Design Utrecht and NHTV Urban Design Breda. 

Gerwin de Vries, owner/landscape architect (CV)


Staff since 2011: Roberta Pietricola, Louise Mabilleau, Quirine Hoek, Lisa van Beek, Ines Plagemann, Marleen Buitenwerf, Rebecca Smink, Mans Weghorst, Josje Hoefsloot, Wolf Compernolle, Rui Pedro Fernandes, Joanne de Bruin, Federico Lia, Sophie van Eeden, Sander Smits, Cyriel Hochstenbach, Jasper Massink, Vincent Janssen, Hendrik van Beek, Anouk Anne Langeveld, Floris Grondman, Jeroen Castricum, Floor van Wulfften Palthe, Toon Roozen, Remco van der Togt, Frank Jurien Dam